The Euro

The euro is the currency of 17 countries in the EU, the eurozone, which consists ofAustria,Belgium,Cyprus,Estonia,Finland,France,Germany,Greece,Ireland,Italy,Luxembourg,Malta, theNetherlands,Portugal,Slovakia,SloveniaandSpain. Euro’s banknotes and coins could finally be used by their residents in 2002. Today, it is one of the most powerful currencies in the world.

The symbol of the euro is €. There are coins of 2€, 1€, 50 c, 20 c, 10c and 5c, and notes of 500€, 200€, 100€, 50€, 20€, 10€ and 5€. One euro is one hundred eurocents.

The design of the coins and notes depends on the country. Every coin has a common side and a specific one:

Iguácel Cuiral – Group 8

Sources (all of them accessed on 20/12/2011):

Map source: (Accessed on 20/12/11)

Euro coins source: (Accessed on 20/12/11)

More information about the Euro:




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s